May 8 – What made you laugh

Many writers and want-to-be writers struggle to pursue their writing goals. Judy Reeves knows each one of us. Perhaps not by name, but by our writer’s soul.

I was lucky enough to meet Judy during a session at the Southern California Writers Conference. In a workshop called “20 Ways to Make It Better,” she strung together dozens of hands-on tips on how to take your writing deeper, employ all the senses and embrace language. It didn’t take long to realize that she spoke from experience, from her heart. Judy knew.

I’m working my way through her book, “A Writer’s Book of Days: A Spirited Companion and Lively Muse for the Writing Life.” So far, I’ve been encouraged, challenged and understood. I’m not alone.

Today I’m pondering all the things that make me laugh–everything from my husband’s quirky smile to reruns of “I Love Lucy” have made the list. The writing prompts are the book’s backbone, but every page holds other treasures in the form of advice, inspiration and some literary tidbits.

Musicians practice. Athletes practice. Writers should too. The daily writing prompts make practicing seamless. Writing from a prompt, Judy says, is like having someone provide the music when you want to dance.

A Writer’s Book of Days is $16.95 — less on sites like Amazon.

