Just before it launched the iPad last April, I read that Apple reduced its book categories from 35 to 20 on its iBookstore app. According to the article, many of the common categories like “Romance”, “Fiction & Literature,” “Comics & Graphic Novels”  and “Cookbooks” are still there. But the news article made me wonder how many book categories–including sub-categories–are there.

So I started my own list.

Tell me what I missed . . . 

In the interest of full disclosure, I don’t own an iPhone or an iPad, but I do have an eReader my husband gave me for Christmas two years ago that I’ve yet to use.

FICTION

Anthologies

Chick Lit

Christian Fiction

Classics

Drama

Erotica

Essays

Fantasy

Gay & Lesbian

Graphic Novels & Comic Books

Historical Fiction

Horror

Letters

Literary Criticism

Literary Fiction

Mystery & Crime

Paranormal Romance

Poetry

Romance

Science Fiction

Short Stories

Teen Fiction

War & Military

Westerns

Women’s Fiction

Urban Fantasy

Young Adult

 

NONFICTION

African Americans

Antiques & Collectibles

Art, Architecture & Photography

Automotive

Bibles & Bible Studies

Biography

Business & Investing

Children

Christianity

Computer & Technology

Cookbooks, Food & Wine

Crafts & Hobbies

Crime & Criminals

Economics

Education & Teaching

Engineering

Entertainment

Essays

Foreign Languages

Games

Gay & Lesbian

Government

Health, Diet & Fitness

History

Home & Garden

Humor

Inspirational

Judaism & Judaica

Law

Medical Books

New Age & Spirituality

Outdoors & Nature

Parenting & Family

Pets

Philosophy

Politics & Current Events

Professional & Technical

Psychology & Psychotherapy

Puzzles & Games

Reference

Religion & Spirituality

Science & Nature

Self Improvement/ Self-Help

Sex & Relationships

Social Sciences

Sports & Adventure

Study Guides & Test Prep

Teens

Transportation

Travel

True Crime

Urban Planning & Development

Weddings

Women’s Studies

Thrillers

