There are lots of reasons to be part of a writers group. In addition to having colleagues who understand the joys and frustrations of a writer’s life, critique partners generously share valuable feedback.  No doubt, having professional writers willingly offer their expertise and seasoned guidance about any of my writing endeavors definitely improves my work.

One of the challenges with having multiple critique partners, though, is keeping track of the various versions of the chapters I’ve sent out and streamlining everyone’s comments during the editing process.

I stumbled upon Google docs. A free online program that stores a master copy of any document and allows you send a link to those you’d like to access it, keeping all the editing, comments and feedback on one document.

I’m wondering how other writers keep track of their work while it’s being critiqued. Have you tried Google docs or a similar program? Was it helpful? What didn’t work for you?

