Ingermanson is the author of “Writing Fiction for Dummies.” While I can’t fully agree that rookie writers qualify as dummies, I often feel dumb during the fiction-writing process. And I know this is true for my other writer friends because we’ve compared experiences.

“…but more frequently, I suffer afternoons where I question my ability to write even a shopping list.”

Learning, understanding and implementing all the components that make up a compelling page-turner is an arduous process. It’s a path that is as individual as the writer who has embarked upon it. I live for those cherished “aha” moments, but more frequently, I suffer afternoons where I question my ability to write even a shopping list.

Part of the quest is learning the nuts and bolts of fiction writing from those who have successfully blazed the trail. Two of my favorites are Larry Brooks are (storyfix.com) and Randy Ingermanson (snowflake method). I’ve written about both of these creative and generous writers on this blog before. The duo have joined forces in an informational and fun interview. Take time to read this interview with a superstar writing mentor.

Write on!